Dear Diary

{Writing 101} Short and incomplete list of letters I could write if I wrote letters

writing letter

{lire en français}

To my coworker and first adult crush, during my first job in a bookshop when I was 20yo, thank you for our endless conversations about movies and writing, for half joking I was going to be the next Barbara Cartland, being famous and fabulous, selling millions of romance novels and dying my hair purple and owning every second of it. I’d love to bump into you someday and see what you’ve become, if you’re still as hot as the hidden son of Bruce Willis and Fabien Barthez, the French football player (yeah it was 1999, France had just won the football/soccer World Cup, everybody was feeling patriotic and a sport fan back then, it was awesome).

To my dad, who’s dead and have been for five years, thank you for everything, but I wish you hadn’t talk me how to hate myself and my fat body, how to not see my value, how to always and forever feel I’m not good enough.

To the Universe. You know what you’ve done. You should recognize your mistakes and fix them.

Fix me.

Fix us.

Then we’ll talk.

*

Liste brève et incomplète des lettres que je pourrais écrire si j’écrivais des lettres :

A mon collègue et premier béguin d’adulte, pendant mon premier emploi dans une librairie quand j’avais 20 ans, merci pour nos conversations sans fin sur le cinéma et l’écriture, pour dire en ne plaisantant qu’à moitié que je serai la prochaine Barbara Cartland, célèbre et fabuleuse, vendant des millions de romans à l’eau de rose, les cheveux teints en violet, assumant chaque seconde de cette vie. J’adorerais te croiser par hasard, voir ce que tu es devenu, si tu es toujours aussi sexy que le fils caché de Bruce Willis et Fabien Barthez (je ne vous explique pas qui est Fabien Barthez, vous étiez là pendant la Coupe du Monde de 98 non ? Le joueur de foot ? Gardien de but ?)

A mon père, mort et enterré depuis cinq ans, merci pour tout, mais j’aurais vraiment préféré que tu ne m’aies pas appris à me détester, moi et mon corps de grosse, appris à ne pas voir ma valeur, à me sentir pour toujours pas la hauteur.

A l’Univers. Tu sais ce que tu as fait. Reconnais tes erreurs et répare-les.

Répare-moi.

Répare-nous.

Et après, on pourra parler.

Laisser un commentaire

